Gordon Revamps, Expands Homecoming Awards

In an effort to amplify Gordon’s celebration of remarkable alumni and community members, the College is expanding its Homecoming festivities. In addition to the annual honors, the 2018 Homecoming Awards: A Celebration of Faithful Leadership will also include a keynote speaker—New York Times best-selling author Bob Goff—and the presentation of the George F. Bennett Leadership Award on Friday, September 28 at 8 p.m. in the A. J. Gordon Memorial Chapel.

“Gordon College has produced a significant number of alumni who are making a big difference in their communities and in their career fields in a variety of ways,” says Lori Henderson ’84, chairperson of the Alumni Advisory Council. “‘Success’ has many definitions for Gordon alumni . . . We have a range of people with a range of stories, and I think that will resonate.”

Eight Gordon graduates will receive alumni awards. Three individuals who have made significant contributions to the College will receive special commendations. And six former athletes will join Gordon’s Hall of Honor.

Alumni awardees:

A. J. Gordon Missionary Service Award—Paul ’81 and Lucinda ’79
Paul and Lucinda have served overseas for 34 years, ministering in many capacities and bringing the gospel to unreached populations in South America.

Gordon Alumni Award—Nathan Uebelhoer ’92
DO, FAAD, Board Certified Dermatologist
Former Division Head of Mohs and Laser Surgery, U.S. Navy

A pioneer in scar rehabilitation, Nathan Uebelhoer utilizes post-cancer cosmetic procedures to aid wounded soldiers and underserved individuals in Asia and South America.

Jack Good Community Service Award—Andrea (Boylan) Polnaszek ’94
Founder and Board Member, Touched Twice United
A compassionate social worker, Andrea Polnaszek helped found Touched Twice, a nonprofit enabling churches to offer medical services to their communities.

Winifred Currie Award in Education—Christopher Brooks ’93 Accepted on Christopher’s behalf by his wife, Melanie ’93, and brother-in-law, Michael Messenger ’90
Senior Level Social Studies Teacher, Souhegan High School
Christopher Brooks, an award-winning teacher, develops groundbreaking curricula and educational initiatives to meet students’ needs in nontraditional formats.

Gordon Young Alumni AwardKatie Thompson ’12
Program Director and Editor, Shared Justice
Katie Thompson is a proponent for developing young, civically-engaged leaders who are thoughtful about the intersection of faith, justice and politics.

Alumni Entrepreneur of the YearKevin ’09 and Ryn ’10 Grant
Owners, The Castle: A Board Game Café
Fun-loving entrepreneurs Kevin and Ryn Grant are the creators of a one-of-a-kind space that builds community through entertainment and supports Children’s Miracle Network.

Additional honorees:

Lifetime Achievement Award—Dr. Bert H. Hodges
Professor of Psychology, Gordon College
Having taught psychology since at Gordon since 1972, Bert Hodges is the College’s longest-serving faculty member and a leading voice in his field.

Honorary Alumna—JoDee Herschend
Founder, The Caring People
A supporter of Gordon’s mission, JoDee Herschend launched The Caring People, a ministry that serves single mothers by partnering them with loving women in the church.

George F. Bennett Leadership Award—Wai-Kwong Seck
CEO, State Street Corporation, Asia Pacific
Wai-Kwong Seck is an influential figure in finance and business who has held multiple senior-level positions, and a member of Global Advisory Board.

As part of the event, Seck will share wisdom and expertise in a special installment of “Conversations with the President” with President Michael Lindsay.

Athletics Hall of Honor inductees:

Gordon’s Athletics Hall of Honor recognizes individuals who have demonstrated commitment to the mission of Gordon or Barrington, excelled in their respective roles as athletes, coaches or administrators, and displayed exemplary Christian character throughout their athletic careers.

“This year’s recipients are more than deserving of this distinction not only for their athletic accomplishments, which are extensive, but for being living examples of Christ’s character in competition,” says Athletics Director Jonathan Tymann.

Stephen Heintz ’87—Men’s Basketball
Wally King ’71B—Men’s Basketball
Sara (Baker) Lake ’01—Women’s Soccer, Women’s Basketball and Softball
Cliff “Nubby” McCrath—Coach of Men’s Soccer, 1960–66
Aaron Trigg ’10—Men’s Basketball

General admission is $10. Buy tickets here >>

Admission for Gordon students is complimentary. Directions for students to collect tickets will be provided at a later date.